When to start eating for a bulk?

dohste

Hey,

Hopefully this will be my last total noob post here. Think I've everything else together and ready to go for Monday! Just one thing I'm half debating with myself.

I know that to bulk I'll have to accept gaining a small bit of fat aswell, but in an attempt to keep that to a minimum what do people think about not starting a bulk diet till you actually start getting close to your first RM?

I mean the weights in the first session or two are so low that I really can't see my muscles being challenged by them and so I'm thinking all those bulking calories on those initial days would just go straight to fat?? (When I decrease the weight in 5% of 1RM decrements, for some exercises it's coming out that I'd just start with little more than the bar on it's own... ...)

I reckon it will be a nice way to ease into it and also could help preparing my body for the heavier weights to come, as I've read here. So I've no problem doing those light weight sessions, but I'm just wondering about when it's beneficial to start a bulking diet???

I know that to bulk I'll have to accept gaining a small bit of fat aswell, but in an attempt to keep that to a minimum what do people think about not starting a bulk diet till you actually start getting close to your first RM?

Unless you have a lot of excess fat for your body to burn for energy (body recomposition) you will not gain much if any muscle unless you are eating calories over what you need for maintenance.