Why not failure?

Nach

Why is not recomendable to train at a high-intensity(failure) when your goal is hypertrophy?

I'm no expert, but there have been studies to show that there is no additional advantage to training to failure (complete failure that is). In some cases it may stunt growth as it's too taxing on the CNS.

Assuming you are asking a legit question and not trolling, there are reams of info out there as to why failure is probably not the best way to train. For one, it does not allow for more frequent training. Secondly, when training to failure, you are not really working the muscle(s) to a greater degree, just taxing the CNS. The bodybuilding community is the only one that lends any credence to HIT. Olympic lifters and elite strength athletes have been performing squats, deadlifts, bench, etc. several times per week for decades now. The BB community is just THAT far behind. The influence of steroids is a major contrubuting factor.

Do check out the HST-FAQs. There's a lot of good info there to answer your question.

Short answer is that training to failure has its place in strength training but is not necessary for hypertrophy. In fact, managing your CNS recovery ability is key to making the best progress if your training frequency is resonably high (eg. full body 3 x weekly).

I trained under the misguided idea that unless I trained to failure I wasn't training hard enough to make the best gains I could. Since finding this site and absorbing the much more up-to-date training info offered, I have trained to failure very infrequently and generally avoid it altogether. My progress, on the other hand, has been the best I have ever made. Another plus is that I get far fewer colds than I used to get when constantly frying my CNS.

Why not try a cycle of HST and see for yourself.

Here's a bunch of information that I've compiled on failure. If you don't find your answer here, than I doubt you'll find it anywhere.