Had to tweak the program

trash

Hi all
I have been lifting for about three years. The last year and a half or so has been met with progress but also stumbling blocks ( ie injuries ) that have caused me to "tweak" my HST routine. Let me explain. I hope this doesn't turn into a 350 page novel.
I am first and foremost a martial artist. I no longer compete but I still try to train ( martial arts training ) with high intensity. I am 38 and have been involved in martial arts since my preteens. I never really touched a barbell until a few years ago. A few years ago I noticed a significant drop in my speed. I was never really strong but I was always fast. Whatever I lacked in strength I made up for in speed and now it seemed that I was losing it. So now I am condemed to being weak and slow. I bought a book called "Warrior Speed" by Ted Weimann. This book basically said that weight training increased your speed. I was sold. Bought some weights and a bench and started going at it. I didn't noticed any increase in speed. But I started getting bigger and I liked it! Suddenly I wasn't worried about my speed anymore.....I wanted to look like a male cover model!
Anyhow...a year or so went by. A freind told me about a weight training program called Max OT. I applied it to only a few of my exercises to see how it worked out for me. After a couple weeks of doing it, I began to notice pain in my joints. Mostly my wrists and my left elbow. The elbow pain scared me because I felt it mostly on my bench press and I lift alone. What if my elbow gave out on a heavy bench press with no spotter?? I decided to take some time off from lifting.