Let's talk Nutrient/Calorie DENSITY!!!

<div>
(colby2152 @ Aug. 16 2007,09:07)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">e^pi meant 78, but his point is valid nonetheless</div>
Oh crap!!!! Yeah, I'm a math teacher. Hey, we all make mistakes, right!?!?!?!
biggrin.gif
tounge.gif

haha cheers for that, hey totentanz that IS true, do u often have sugar? i'm NOT having a go haha i'm just curious, is that like okay to do in the context of its GI rating? hmmm this is interesting, as IN is it not going to spike my blood sugar levels? which if i do it often enough can be harmful?

and etothepii can you explain what you mean when you said percentage-wise is more important than grams? do u mean that if there are 22grams per 100grams of food, u mean 22%? how is that different from calculating it grams-wise?

cheers for the loverrrrly discussion!
laugh.gif
i'm just thinking of alternatives of different foods when i honestly can't eat that much... or meals that i can eat more quickly lol i usually take like, 30 minutes to eat MINIMUM lol

I'll try to get my math right this time!!!
biggrin.gif

wink.gif

Here is 100 grams of chicken breast, taken from nutritiondata.com:Chicken Breast

Calories: 110
Calories from fat: 11

Total fat: 1g
Saturated fat: 0g
Trans fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 58mg
Sodium: 65mg
Total Carbohydrates: 0g
Fiber: 0g
Sugar: 0g
Protein: 23g
Vitamin A: 0
Vitamin C: 0
Calcium: 1
Iron: 4

OK, there is 100g of matter in that food, but adding up all the nutrients above together we get less than 25g of food, 15g moisture. Nutritiondata.com confirms this by listing it's moisture content as 75%.

Looking at protein, you might say it's only 23% protein, that is, 23/100 = .23.

But, protein has 4 calories per gram (rounded off, actually, it's a little over 4 calories per gram). 23*4= 92, and 92/110 = .84, or 84%. Nutritiondata.com lists it as 90% protein. They must have exact, and not rounded calculations.