Absolute beginner with no experience..

Discussion in 'Basic Training Principles and Methods' started by despair89, Jan 2, 2012.

1. despair89

despair89 Member

Hello, I am a beginner to lifting overall (and definitely HST).. I've been to gym sporadically over the past 4 months, but for purposes of this topic I can be considered to have zero knowledge in lifting or any of its jargons.

I am 19 this year and would like to start off a HST program. I have read the FAQ Book and also HST for Dummies by EctoSquat.

I intend to use the following workouts for my first try as suggested by EctoSquat:
    Squat
    Bench Press
    Stiff Legged Deadlift
    Bent Over BB Rows
    Seated Shoulder Press
    EZ Bar Curls
    Lying Tricep Extensions
    Standing Calf Raise

With the exception of Squat and Bench Press, I don't really know what others mean. Can I substitute the upper body workouts ones I am familiar with, say Cables for triceps, and Dumbbell curls for biceps?

From what I understand, I will have to spend the first week determining my Maxes:
    Monday: Determine 15RM
    Wed: Determine 10RM
    Fri: Determine 5RM

After which I will take 9 days off for SD, before starting my actual first cycle?

p/s: here's a pic of myself in current conditions.. would really want to make a change! I have no idea of the BF%.. What else would u guys suggest recording for the rest of my workout period? I am intending to cut my belly fats by starting on a cutting diet, would also need advice on that..

[​IMG]

Thanks everyone and Happy New Year!

Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  2. grunt11

grunt11 New Member

Welcome to the forum. I’ll try to get things kick-started but I’m sure others will also jump in and help.