Complete Beginner

MrMagic

Hi,

Well, I am completely new to bodybuilding, lifting, and athletics in general. Currently, I'm very out of shape and want to fix that.

My primary goal at the moment is aesthetic; I can worry about physical fitness, strength, etc., later, but want to look good first.

I am 17 years old, weigh 180 lbs, am 5' 9.5" tall. Much of this weight is not muscle, but fat; I don't know my body fat percentage, but I can assure you it is pretty high.

So my two objectives are building muscle mass and burning fat, which I understand may not be possible to achieve concurrently.

Which objective should I focus on first? If it doesn't make a difference, I'd prefer losing fat first.

I know very little about lifting, so I don't know if HST is a good idea for me at this point in time. Is it suitable for someone who doesn't even know how to lift yet?

If not, what type of program would you recomend?

Also, how do I make sure that I am doing exercizes properly and with correct form?

Finally, I had questions about diet. I've been trying the Warrior Diet, an intermittent fasting type diet, since mid June and have lost about ten pounds, mostly fat I think.

Is this type of diet okay for HST techniques or do I really need to eat six meals a day? I enjoy greater energy and focus during the day and there are numerous health benefits to an intermittent fasting lifestyle, so I'd prefer continuing it unless it will seriously impeede my goals.

I know I asked a lot, but I'd appreciate any advice.

Thanks,
Anand

Being that you're completely new to working out, you CAN burn fat and lose muscle at the same time.  For a little while at least.  I would recommend following a Starting Strength routine that's made popular by Mark Rippetoe.    You can do pretty much anything and you'll see results at this point, but SS will take advantage of you're newbie status and most likely you'll get better results then following any other program.  

Starting Strength Guide