hand spacing on bench press

terp

I've been working out for 20 years so you'd think I'd know this, but what do you guys consider the proper spacing for your hands during the bench press? for years I've put my ring fingers on the smooth ring in the middle of the knurling- making my thumbs ~ 24 inches apart. I've read in a couple places that the index fingers should be ~ 22" apart (about 1.5" in from where I am now w/ each hand). I'm 6'0". any thoughts?

thanks.

it does depend on your body shape but 22" sounds good.

the thing is if you go too wide you will work the delts more and add more stress generally in that area, too narrow and you,ll hit the tri's more.

someone has a link on here that will point you in the right direction as regards to good form.

I also used to bench with with my ring fingers on the smooth rings, but I'm only 5'6" so that was a really wide grip for me. I also brought my elbows out to where they were almost at right angles to my body. I did it this way because somebody told me that that was the "proper" way. I ended up developing some shoulder problems and thought that this was probably the source. So, when I got back into weight training about 6 months ago I narrowed my hand spacing a bit using a slightly wider than shoulder width, and brought my elbows in towards my body a bit more. Result - although I'm starting to have some post workout shoulder pain again, it's not as bad as in the past and I feel less stress on my shoulders while I'm benching.

The bottom line IMHO is that you should use the hand spacing that feels most comfortable to you and not worry about somebody else's determination of what it is "supposed to be". Experiment with different widths and go with the one that feels best. You might even want to vary the spacing from time to time.

Hand spacing can be used to vary the lift. That's not a bad thing at all. Use it to your advantage.