How to Deadlift

Everyone here should already know how to use good form on the deadlift.  This has been discussed on this board numerous times.  However, what you might not know is that you should always do your reps using double overhanded grip (use straps).  The risk for a bicep tear is too great using over/under.   To all you guys who say "but i've been using over/under for 95 years and I've never had a bicep tear," it's better to prevent one now than to be sorry later.   Even if you're a powerlifter, there is no need to train that way.  You can always train your grips with static holds, etc. etc.

Saw this video on another board

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SW6dTdSnDtU

I have tried both grips and prefer the double overhand. I have felt some hard stretches in my biceps with the mixed grip and could easily see how a tear could happen.

Thanks for the safety tip.

Whoa! Yes, thank you.

I've heard about such things, but I've never seen one before.

I can usually manage a pronated grip up to about 85% of my 1RM. After that I've been using a mixed grip. I think perhaps I might just start using straps...

My grip has never failed with the double overhand hook grip on the deadlift... although it is particularly painful at times. The upside is that oly lifting with the hook grip is painless.

I need serious grip training. Without a mixed grip I can at best do warmups for my deadlift. Even with mixed grip, grip is my limiting factor. With double overhand my deadlift weight drops big time and I don't want to use a strap.

Like bgates I tend to go for a hook grip now for my 'heavyish' singles rather than use reverse grip but doing so does give my thumbs a real beating. They haven't pulled off yet though.