machines vs. free weights?

bilknu

Hi, I am new to weight training and don't feel comfortable using free weights due to lower back problems and feel awkward and am self-conscious when in the gym. Can I use the HST program with machines? Thanks for your time and the great info on this site.

Absolutely. Then when you gain some strength and confidence, start working in free weights on some basic exercises like bench presses and curls...save the advanced movements like squats and deadlifts for later, if ever, only if your lower back problem resolves. Don't challenge it.

Randy

I've been trying HST for the past 6 months for similar reasons. I had never really lifted any weights before. So far so good.
What kind of advantages/benefits would I gain by transitioning to free weights?

Better physical coordination, better transference to real-world strength, better balance, etc.

Not necessarily better growth though, but general health and ability are important too.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Calkid @ July 21 2003,3:50)]Better physical coordination, better transference to real-world strength, better balance, etc.
Not necessarily better growth though, but general health and ability are important too.
i fail to see why it'd necessarily yield better transfer to 'real world strength.' i'd go so far to say that it's totally irrelevent for the average trainee :) the only downside to machines is that there aren't a lot of good, viable substitutes for squats/deadlifts, imho.

Because, in the real (ie unsupported) world, you're limited by how well you can balance yourself and activate stabilizing muscles during a lift. This is more important than you'd think. If you don't believe me, try doing heavy dumbell lunges with a fast-ish tempo. Only after a few weeks am I not continuously losing my balance.

[b said: