(Not so) New diet idea

I

imported_etothepii

I'm a math teacher, so I'm using a the graph of the trig function y = sinx as my model.

Basically, this is a calorie cycling, perhaps carb cycling diet -- just a rough idea right now, needing to be fine tuned...

The trig model is actually:

y = asinx + c

(There is more to trig than that, but these parameters are all that matter here.)

a is the amplitude -- the caloric surplus/deficit.

c is maintenance calorie level.

sine.gif

At the peaks, you are doing a heavy weight lifting workout. At the valley, you are doing a fat-burning workout, be it cardio, high rep/light weight/low rest weight lifting, HIIT, or whatever.

To blend this with HST, you lift every 48 hours (peaks) and do cardio on off days (valleys).

For bulking, you make set the value of c above your maintenance.

For cutting, keep c below maintenance.

For a slow bulk, keep c below maintenance in the 15s, at maintenance in the 10, and above maintenance in the 5s.

Drop the wave during SD.

What do you think of the rough draft of this idea?

It looks great on paper (I have thought the same things), but the sine curve is a continuous function. We cannot use a continuous function for caloric intake. We cannot even used a cumulative distribution function unless you are measuring calories consumed in the past (oh say) 12 hours. At that point, it is acceptable for a function of caloric intake to decrease.

Caloric waving has been discussed in a thread that I started: http://www.hypertrophy-specific.info/cgi-bin....t=14579

It is something I will be trying out in my next cycle. I will be waving the calories on a more discrete basis every 12 hours. This makes it optimal for nutrition around my HST workouts.

BTW, you may be interested in one of the forums I frequently post in: Math Help Forum

I quickly realized that it wouldn't be a continuous function, but the sine wave models the overall thought behind the diet, so I'm sticking with it for now.