Starting Strength Before HST

ryder22

HST is a great program in its mechanics and it is far more superior than any other programs that promotes muscle size gains "size and size alone". However training strength is much more logical for beginners since it is a critical factor in future size gains which is one of the principle that the HST program promotes namely "progressive load every workout". Now the problem here is that beginners don't have the sufficient strength that will be needed for the specific rep max micro-cycle of HST which are namely the 15s, 10s, and 5s. Speaking of what specific strength program that should be recommended for beginners, it should be Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength:Basic Barbell Training, for it teaches the lifter the correct form in the most effective free-weight exercises, effective and efficient strength gains for the complete beginners through sound and simplistic strategy using the 5 rep range which is really geared for neurological adaptation, and lastly is its gradual linear progression therefore the lifter/bodybuilder is getting stronger every workout until it stops working. The program is outlined as follows:
Workout A
Squats -  3x5
Bench Press - 3x5
Deadlifts - 3x5

Workout B
Squats - 3x5
Press(shoulder) - 3x5
Powercleans - 5x3