timing

mushys

Hi
I am just getting into HST and have just completed 6 workouts using 15s.

Coming from a powerlifting spell of 2 years with hardly any sets above 6 reps, this was a tough task, but I got all 15 reps on most exercises during session 6, and I reckon I was near failure on most.

Now I am on the 10's and following advice from another thread, decided to do 1 set of 10 plus a set of 5 to keep up the volume.

After my first set of squats((122.5k x10, raw) , which were relatively easy having been doing 15s for the last 2 weeks, I waited 3 minutes to get my heart rate down (I actually used a monitor and I waited until 110 beats per min) then I did a set of 5, same weight.
I did the same for stiff deads on a box.
Later during the workout I used a 2 minute rest periiod between sets, as they were easier exercises.

My thoughts were that if one does not monitor time, especially if going for the cluster sets idea, then the workout is not really progressive in every aspect (except load), as if I am taking longer to do the sets, then this is making for an easier effect. Only by timing would I know I was actually doing something progressive.

Even timing does not really bridge the gap between doing one set of 15, and 3 sets of 5 at the end, as rest time presumably is much higher. But at least timing can lend consistency during the 10s, then during the 5s.

Any thoughts?
I am used to long rests between sets, does anyone think there is an optimum time?

Another thing - is it better to alternate squats and deads during the same cycle, or to exclusively use one or another during different cycles? I know it is possible to do both exercises during the same workout, but my 40 year old body has taken some hammer over the years and sometimes a less direct route is faster?!

Anyway, I am fired up over HST, I love the big exercises and doing them 3 times per week really appeals to me.