Chest

BigJ

Ok,

I don't know if this should be in this forum or general training, but my problem is this:

Chest. I've been training for a long time (12 years or so) and HSTing for about the last 1 1/2 years...

If you were to see me you would know my weakest body part is my chest.

How can I force some growth here? I bench about 140 kilos at my 5 rep maximum so its not like I am not throwing reasonable weights about...

Any input appreciated...

I have had good results with the following superset routine of 1 set each:

DB Incline Bench Press
Dips
Flat Bench Flyes

Even the 15's give you a good doms inducing workout.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (Old and Grey @ Mar. 09 2005,11:10)]I have had good results with the following superset routine of 1 set each:
DB Incline Bench Press
Dips
Flat Bench Flyes
Even the 15's give you a good doms inducing workout.
I know a few people who have had good success with 21s, probably because of the time under tension they require. Basically you do the top half of a movement for seven reps, the bottom half for seven, and then the full movement for seven. I tried them once for arms, I definitely felt it afterward. I've never done them over a series of workouts though.

Ian King is a big fan of 21's as well. It is a very good method to get a wicked metabolic workout into a very short period of time. Supersetting is a variation of 21's but using different exercises instead of different ranges of the same exercise. 21's work well with almost any exercise. Do 7 reps using the top 1/3 of the movement, 7 reps using the bottom 1/3 of the movement and 7 reps using the full range of the exercise. Like drop sets, it's a real burner.

So would 21s induce growth?

And how would I incorporate 21s into an HST routine?

(assuming bench and dips for the exercises)