chins, pull ups, and growing wings

beingisbeing

I tried searching for a a thread about this to no avail, though I'm sure one exists as I've seen quad and others mention it.

My understanding is that chins (supinated grip) activate the biceps more while pull ups (pronated grip usually wider grip) will activate the lats/rear delts more.

My friend, a seasoned weight lifter, says the reason I'm not 'growing wings' or getting much of a V is because I do chins, not pull ups, and don't do my BB rows in the wide grip, trunk horizontal to the ground, but I guess have been doing something more like a yates row, body at 45 degrees, elbows in, weight pulled up to the navel.

Any opinions?

(I'm also a relative newbie, and my progress thus far has been some muscle gain with big time fat loss. this could also be why I'm not 'growing wings.' hyper caloric diet might change that).

I've had good lats growth with chins. I don't think that if you use a good weight it will have that much of a difference between chins and pull ups. Of course everyone is different so you could experiment with pull ups and see how you respond to them. I personally prefer doing rows with the trunk parallel to the ground like pendlays to put emphasis in the back area and less in the traps.

One other thing that helps with the V shape (besides a small waist, of course) are the shoulders, specially the lateral delts which you can work with upright rows or lateral raises.

<div>
(electric @ Jun. 16 2008,11:22)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I've had good lats growth with chins. I don't think that if you use a good weight it will have that much of a difference between chins and pull ups. Of course everyone is different so you could experiment with pull ups and see how you respond to them. I personally prefer doing rows with the trunk parallel to the ground like pendlays to put emphasis in the back area and less in the traps.