Cyclical Load??

keenef4

Sorry for my English since Im not very sure if the title makes any sense at all
tounge.gif

What I mean is that I have noticed (maybe everyone has known this long ago
laugh.gif
) that in HST and many other programes, we start out at light weights and progress it up to the end of the cycle and then deload (or SD in HST). Next is again adding weights gradually from light to heavy over time. Sure this is progressive but also cyclical ( but starting out at a little bit heavier weight in the next cycle than the last) is it not?

Can I just progress the load only? Like just adding weight to the bar over time (very slowly) as my strength improves. And when my strength gain is no longer ahead of the RBE then I will just use the next RM to again be ahead of RBE. i.e. I start out at 10RM and add weight overtime till RBE catches up. Then, I will move on to 8RM. And i think that is not going to be a short time (maybe 1-2 years) since I am a newbie.

Moreover, if im not mistaken then deload or SD is just for cns refresh and joints recovery due to heavy weights of the low RMs. so, with JUST progressive load and im not using heavy weights, I dont have to deload whose purpose is not for hypertrophy but recovery!

Probably, the way HST and other porgrames set out like that (cyclical and progressive load) because it is necessary but i just cannot see it.

Please shed some lights to the home of this caveman! Any type is appreciated
laugh.gif

yes, you can just progressively load the bar. Whether or not it would be optimal is another matter, but plenty of people have made gains just by increasing the weight over time as they are able to.

1. Strength is neuromuscular in nature. Muscle size + central nervous system capacity.

2. When lifting a weight, strength immediately decreases proportionately with the weight. The heavier it is, the lower the strength drops.