New to HST, hows my routine?

DennisRB

Hi, I think I will give HST a try. Do you think it will be good for me?
Previously I have been doing weights with no real plan or direction. I may have been over training, but I was in inadvertently following a HST like plan anyway as I would do a full body workout 3-5 times a week and continuously add more weight. But because I was a beginner, I could get away with adding more weight quite often. I have been training on and off for about 4 months, and have lost about 10kg of over all body mass, but I reckon I lost at least 15kg of fat and put on 5kg of muscle. I just ordered some body fat scales. My weight is now 80kg (roughly double for puounds 10kg = 22lbs)

I have a home gym which consists of bench bar/dumbells.

Please view attachment for routine of 2 weeks of 15's.

HST will definately be good for you

There are some things I'd change if I were you: the ABs should be trained like all other muscles - i.e. not doing a billion reps like most people can do in airbiking. Do fx a weighted crunch and follow the progression suggested by HST - the same goes for calves (remember, as Arnold S says, your calves are used to carrying around your bodyweight, so you'll have to lift more to develop them). For squat, I'd use barbell instead of dumbbells

Thanks.

I will certainly take your advice into consideration. I can't use a barbell for squats as I fell its too dangerous without a power rack or spotter.

I also have never trained my legs, besides a bit of ACL surgery rehabilitation. (injured about 18 months ago) Which is why my squat figure is low.