strength base before HST

Sir Liftalot

Hey

I read a couple of threads about the fact that complete novices should have
a strength base before they start off with HST else it wont be very effective.

The theory behind this is that beginners don't have the sufficient strength
that will be needed for the specific rep max micro-cycle of HST which are namely the 15s, 10s, and 5s.

So my question: Does a novice need a strength base before he/she starts with HST for optimal results?

Thanks in advance!

Source: http://http://thinkmuscle.com/forum/archive/index.php?t-19098.html

acceptable strength base:

Squat: 120% of BW in KG
Deadlift: 150% of BW in KG
Bench press: 80% of BW in KG
Overhead press:50% of BW in KG
( for atleast 5 reps )

I disagree with the thread you linked to. I think that the only thing that is important is for the beginner to know the lifts. HST is ideal for beginners, in my experience. Beginners need less volume to grow and the higher frequency that HST provides is ideal for that. Typical strength training requires more volume and most beginners don't have a high work tolerance yet. HST can be laid out with minimal volume and it will help them not only build some muscle but develop tolerance for more volume. Then during subsequent cycles, they can add a set or two to each lift to improve their results and further increase their work tolerance.