Time vs total volume

manos

I am new to HST.I am trying to make my 1rst cycle's routine.
From what I have seen in the forum I think I should use 12 exercices,1x15-2x10-3x5 fashion.But I think after the 4 first weeks the time needed to go through the workout will exceed 1 hour.
So what should be my priority, to limit my workouts to 45-60 min. or to finish a predecided volume of training regardless of time?(All these, supposing right rytm in repetitions and rests between sets)

Manos

here's an idea, split the 12 into 6, alternate 6 each time, and the workout will easily fit into 45 - 60 minutes:

Ideas?

1 - Squat alternated with deadlift
2 - Bench Press / Chest Dips (works triceps anyway)
3 - Chinups / Bent Over rows
4 - Military Press / Lateral + Bent over raises
5 - Incline Curls / Preacher curls
6 - Tricep Pushdowns / Skullcrushers
wink.gif

Why is everyone (especially newbies) trying to keep the workouts to an hour? Did Bryan put something in an article? (I couldn't find it)
Bb'ers have for years on end trained as much as two hours with good results, and my early HST efforts were usually an hour and twenty.
I understand that protein synthesis (I think that was it) begins to drop off at around an hour in...but it doesn't stop completely. Other than that, I can only see the fatigue factor being relevant.

I think there is also a negative affect on testosterone and other hormones if you lift heavy for more than about an hour.  I don't know if there are any actual studies on this though.  Maybe Dan has some?

<div>
(Bulldog @ Feb. 09 2007,18:38)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">I think there is also a negative affect on testosterone and other hormones if you lift heavy for more than about an hour.  I don't know if there are any actual studies on this though.  Maybe Dan has some?</div>
It's HIT training marketing hype (work hard but brief and infrequent
rock.gif