Working the back

budec

I need some help on working my back... I hit my shoulders good (do side raises, forward raises, shoulder press), but hitting the middle of the shoulders, the middle back and lower back I don't know what to do.

I have access to dumbells. I've tried squats and dead lifts before but screwed up my back twice on them.... and really don't want to risk around injury.... (I have no cordination what so ever).... I've also tried doing dumbell rows, but I can't isolate my back muscles, it feels like it's working my arms more then anything.

I'm good at doing exercises where I don't have to balance, but if I have to balance and get corrdinated to hit a muscle I ussually #### it up badly.

Any ideas?

When i started lifting for bodybuilding, i stuck with the basics as most suggested. The most basic movements for the back are the deadlift, chins, and bent over rows.
I had lifted for about 3 years for football, doing basic compounds. Mostly squats and bench. I had a strong foundation, but wasn't very big. Just tight, conditioned (term i learned from HST =) ).
Anyways, i started lifting to be a bodybuilder, and with these 3 movements my back really blew up. It's one of my prize posessions of my body. Here are 2 back pictures from 5 months after i started lifting with these exercises.
http://www.coldquads.com/gallery/lance.html
They are on the bottom pictures. When i was a little more ripped. =)
This was my back before, after lifting for football for 3 years, but before lifting like a bodybuilder.
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=1537546
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/attachment.php?s=&postid=1537602