Dangers of Protein shakes

Louno

EDIT : SORRY FOR THE MULTIPLE POSTS, I HAD "ERROR 500" WHEN POSTING AND THOUGHT IT DIDNT WORK...

Ok, once in a while i get comments from " people who know people" that told them that protein shakes are bad, that their doctor told them so and thats it, i cant say anything about it basicaly because, WHAT DO I KNOW im not a freaking doctor...

One old guy i know works at the hospital, he isnt a doctor, just a computer technician, but he says he see alot of ppl having problems because of protein shakes... creatine , etc...
Now in my head i think, ok, maybe they OVER did it, like replace all their meal by protein shakes... i dont know how to explain this, but i always though that protein shakes were safe...
He says that he thinks it comes from all the amino acid maybe ? or that because the shakes arent natural , etc...

Im just tired to defend myself all the time, i already have to do it for hst ( again so many people who know people that are pro and that are gym teachers and that are doctor that know better than me, that doing THIS or THAT is better than what im doing / hst )

so what about the dangers of protein shakes ? you guys heard anything about it ? is there such thing as too much amino acids ? etc...

I hear that food is pretty dangerous stuff if you eat too much of it.
biggrin.gif

What kind of problems is the guy talking about? Not being able to fit in their clothes anymore maybe?
smile.gif
Too many people like to repeat stuff they have heard and yet have nothing to back it up with. Do some reading around the subject if you are worried. Protein drinks are meal supplements not replacements so if you treat them like that you should be fine. Just don't try to live off them. My 2¢.