Is HST for beginners?

totalnatal

Hi,

I wanted to start doing HST(I'm a novice) but some ppl said to me that to start HST I needed a strength base .Is it true?

Thanks

The only strength base you really need is to be aware of what your maxes are in the exercises you select for your first cycle. As a beginner these may be relatively light weights, and your strength will go up rapidly as your nervous system adapts. This is where it may get confusing being if you lay out a program for the next six - eight weeks, your scheduled weight increases may become laughable to you. As a beginner, you could likely do any basic program and get results, but why not start with the most effective way to get from Point A to Point B?

They got it backwards. If you're an experienced lifter, you may need HST to make progress.

A novice will get progress with just about any routine, HST included. But HST will work really well for you.

HST is the best system I've seen for beginners, even though it may seem complicated, once you understand it you'll see what I mean. It lets you build up slowly without trying to kill yourself physically like you might on any typical strength training routine. So the only reason anyone could give for it not being for beginners is that it may take a lot of reading to get it right. Even though it's designed for more experienced and practiced people, if you take the time to figure it out, you'll be glad you did. And I've never seen so many people on a website who know so much and are willing to tell you what you need to know. :)

You bet it is. I'll bet you'll be blowing past your maxes with ease each and every cycle with for the first year or so. Double and triple strength increases easily. You probably won't even hit failure in the first year.

The 15's portion is especially good for newbies as it allows them to practice correct form with little danger of injury.