continued bulking debate from 'j-reps' post

Here we can continue the debate about wether or not it is possible to gain Lean body mass when not eating over maintenence.  Some say it is possible to gain muscle mass with out eating more than maintenance.  Most say you need a caloric surplus in order to give the body the energy and nutrients it needs to cause anabolic protein synthesis.  I am leaning towards the latter, although I am not a diet expert and prefer to se what everyone else has to say.
This is particularly inviting Ashortt and Totentanz to continue the debate started in the 'j-reps' post in the beginner's forum.

As far as I understand it there are only two situations in which one can gain muscle with a caloric deficit. One would be with someone who is completely untrained. Even then you dont get much. I had been lifting on and off for 4 years without much to show for it. I thought I was genetically cursed. After I figured out I needed food and ate more it took me 3months to put on 16lbs of LBM. The other way is with steriods. Trying to gain muscle without eating for it is a waste of time.

Two situations that it generally will happy

1) novice
2) fat

some report it when lean with UD2 style of caloric manipulation, but not many.

Personally, I avoid trying to build muscle on a calorie deficit. I have built muscle sticking with right around my maintenance caloric needs.