Explosive Growth With HST

OneCrazyMofo

This is my first post on the HST forums. I’ve been reading here for a few days, and I’m impressed with the community overall. Everyone seems very helpful and supportive of each other, and there are a select few ‘experts’ that are active and help out the newer guys, which is always appreciated.

I just started learning HST principles a couple of weeks ago, and after discussing it with a good friend of mine who is also a personal trainer/bodybuilder, I’ve decided to give it a shot. I wanted to start posting my experience as a first timer going through the program to help other people who may be in a similar situation decide if it’s right for them, and also to keep myself motivated and on track.

I’ve always been very athletic. I’ve played just about every sport you can imagine, and I’ve trained specifically for certain sports at certain times in my life.

Lately I’ve been training for size with more traditional bodybuilding principles (pyramid rep schemes, lower reps, heavy weight, compound lifts, training to failure, negatives and forced reps, supersets, resting 7 days between splits, etc..). I’ve gained some size and strength for sure, but I feel like I’ve hit somewhat of a plateau, and since HST focuses primarily on sarcoplasmic hypertrophy (which is what I want), the idea/concept was immediately attractive to me.

I’ve never been a big guy by any means. I would categorize myself as a 60/40 ecto-meso. I’ve always been very lean and it’s hard for me to add weight, but really easy to trim down, although over the past couple of years I think my metabolism has slowed down some. Currently I’m hovering around 192 pounds at 5’11”, with about 15% bodyfat (estimate based on electronic Omron fat loss monitor, not entirely accurate but I plan to get out the calipers soon). I also want to get exact body measurements as well. I’ll post those when I have them.