Maxing out reps on certain exercises...?

wungun

On my 3rd cycle, and I've decided to try something a little different.
Going thru the HST progressive loading principles, but instead of stopping at my 15, 10, 5 reps on each exercise day, I want to do as many reps as I can for each weight/workout day.
Plan on doing this on my chins and incline benches...
So instead of doing, for example, 65Lbs inclines for 15 reps, I'll do 20 or 24...rep to failure basically...and do this every workout day, and for all rep ranges...

Thoughts?

Very, very bad idea assuming you are not a complete newbie to weight training. You are no longer doing HST. After posting a previous 46 times, I am shocked that you would even consider such a foolish move Wungun. Pretty soon you will called Nogun.

If you stop a rep short of failure you should be ok. You might get to a point of having to drop back to 2 workouts per week instead of three. Others have done this before if u do some searching on the forum.

If you stop a rep short of failure you should be ok. You might get to a point of having to drop back to 2 workouts per week instead of three. Others have done this before if u do some searching on the forum.

That is suggesting doing 6 straight workouts at the same weight going within 1 rep of failure? Whatever happened to Progressive Load. A lot of people have done this before but you don't hear them touting it now unless they are big juicers and are posting on those type of forums. How come? Makes no sense is why. You might get away with it for one short cycle per year but not much more.