A few queries I have...

Discussion in 'Basic Training Principles and Methods' started by SameOldSameOld, Jul 12, 2007.

1. SameOldSameOld

SameOldSameOld New Member

Hello guys. I have been training for quite a few years but realise I have been over reaching and overtraining for years. anyhow I have a few queries that I have not yet found the answer to so wondered if anyone could help me out.

1. I can only do about 9 or 10 chins with bodyweight but really want to improve this. How can I incorporate into HST? Can I somehow increase my reps without going to failure?

2. If I train biceps, how would I incorporate using two different exercises eg. bar curls and preachers, into a HST cycle? For the sixth session of each rep cycle would I go to failure on one or both exercises?

3. When it comes to the negatives for 2 weeks I will be doing 2more weeks of 5reps. should I be keeping my 5 rep max the same for the next 2 weeks or increasing it? eg. If my 5 rep max for curls is 100 do I just do:

Week 1: Mon Wed Fri
    100x5 100x5 100x5

Week 2: Same as above

any help would be most appreciated. Cheers. [​IMG]

2. bgates1654

bgates1654 New Member

1. Search for max-stim.

2. You only need one, if at all. If you wish to use two different exercises, which I advise against becuase you are unnecessarily complicating your routine, alternate them each work out.

3. Try to increase the weight if you can. If you cannot then stay at the weight or start using max-stim.

3. lcars

lcars New Member

<div>
    (bgates1654 @ Jul. 12 2007,21:43)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">1. Search for max-stim.

2. You only need one, if at all. If you wish to use two different exercises, which I advise against becuase you are unnecessarily complicating your routine, alternate them each work out.

3. Try to increase the weight if you can. If you cannot then stay at the weight or start using max-stim.</div>
    i agree,i think that one exercise should be enough for bi's.